About The Inn
The Parker Home was built by Milton and Mollie Parker in 1885. Originally from Millican, Texas, the Parkers owned land in the Brazos Bottom. Mrs. Parker drew up the plans for the home, and it was constructed by German carpenters from Dallas for a cost of $6,000. The Parkers raised 10 children in this home and it remained in the Parker family until 1991.
The exterior of the home is covered in wood clapboard siding and is relatively unadorned for a home of this period. A two tiered veranda shelters the front of the house. A unique aspect of this home on the interior is a closed area in each bedroom used as a closet, an unusual feature in 19th century homes. The house is over 5,000 square feet with seven fireplaces, a large formal dining room, a study/office, a front parlor receiving room and an adjoining second parlor used for the ladies to gather after meals.
During the Depression years, the home was in the possession of the second generation of Parkers, Milt and Maggie. The home was opened as a boarding house and rented for social occasions. “Miss Maggie” gave the home a new name, “The Oaks”. The third generation of Parkers, Katie Parker Bernath and her husband Robert, lived in this home from 1958 until 1991 when it was gifted to Texas A&M University. The home was entered in the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.
The home was purchased in 1999 by Dr. Van Walker who lovingly restored the home to its previous state of glory. The home once again was the center of family reunions, weddings, anniversary celebrations and happy guests as it served as a B&B and event venue. On April 15, 2016 Dr. Walker passed the baton to Bob and Denise Barbier to continue the tradition of happy hospitality at the Milton Parker Home B&B.